Chess Club

The KCS International Chess Club believes in the holistic development of its members with a strong focus on character traits such as determination, perseverance and respect which are developed in the course of competitions and interaction between club members.

The Chess Club was set up in the early 1990s with the objective of promoting intellectual games.  As a ‘thinking’ game, chess helps to instil perseverance, self–discipline and self-confidence among the members. It also requires players to practise systematic reasoning and logical decision-making.
 
Opportunities are provided for members to develop peaks of excellence through a fun-learning process. They represent the school in both the Individual and Team Chess events at the Nationals. One of the main highlights of the KCS International Chess Club is the South Zone Chess Carnival held during the June holidays.   

 These competitions open up opportunities for chess players from various schools to compete and learn from one another. Our chess players have won many awards at the nationals and it is definitely an important component in providing our students with a holistic education.

CCA Schedule
Teachers in ChargeTraining Days and TimeVenue
Ms Seah Sin Peng
seah_sin_peng@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Shree Arita
shree_kumar_arita@moe.edu.sg

Ms Mandy Chia
mandy_chia_puay_neo@moe.edu.sg

Ms Yeo Yong Yong
yeo_yong_yong@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Wah Yu Yun
wah_yu_yun@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Tan Hwee Sang
tan_hwee_sang@moe.edu.sg

Ms Yee Kit Yin
yee_kit_yin@moe.edu.sg

Thursdays
7.30 am - 9.30 am

Fridays
2.15 pm - 4.15 pm
P4 classrooms

Chess 2019.jpg